Contact the Procurement team to help and advice before undertaking any significant purchasing activity

The Procurement Team are there to support you by identifying a need, to locating a suitable provider, negotiating the price/costs and managing the timely supply/delivery

Shared Business Service (SBS)

NHS Shared Business Services (SBS) process accounts payable, accounts receivable and general ledger transactions on our behalf.

Our suppliers send their invoices to the shared service centre where they are electronically scanned. We are then able to approve the invoices online, and NHS SBS will process the payments on our behalf.

Read some FAQs about using SBS.

Ordering

Download a New User Application Form which must be emailed to your directorate accountant by your Head of Service.

You should use Supply Chain for ordering of goods Welcome - NHS Supply Chain Online Catalogue  - if goods are not available here :-

You should use SBS for catalogue and non-catalogue ordering via the SBS website

This request(requisition) will be converted to a Purchase order and sent to the supplier.

All invoices need to be addressed to

Mersey Care NHS Foundation trust

RW4 Payable F875

Phoenix House

Topcliffe Lane

Wakefield

WF3 1WE

Once goods/services are received they need to be receipted on SBS.

Nb: Delivery notes need to be retained for 2 years after the end of the financial year to which they relate.

Prior to any Annual Leave you will need to put on a vacation rule to direct your SBS invoice notifications to another person to action in your absence.

Useful links

Procurement obtains many products and services from established national, regional and local contracts or framework agreements, to ensure best value, governance and probity. The Procurement Department should always be consulted prior to buying from sources not on established agreements.

Quotations And Tenders – in line with the Financial Scheme of Reservation and Delegation

up to £15,999

Informal quotes

It is strongly recommended that these are obtained via Procurement

 

£16,000 - £49,999 – excluding vat

Quotations – Inviting a minimum of 3 formal written Quotes for Goods and Services

These should always be obtained via Procurement

 

 £50,000 - £122,976 – excluding vat

Competitive Tender – Inviting a minimum of 3 written competitive tenders

These must always be obtained via Procurement

 

Over £122,976

The procurement may be subject to The Public Procurement (Agreement on Government Procurement) (Amendment) (No. 2) Regulations 2021; immediate Procurement advice must be sought.

 

A waiver is necessary prior to ordering any goods/services over the value of £15,999 where a minimum of 3 quotes have not been obtained.

Formal tendering and quotation procedures may be waived where:

  • The requirement is covered by an existing contract, framework agreement or consortium arrangement;
  • The timescale genuinely precludes competitive tendering;
  • Specialist expertise is required and only available from one source;
  • The task arises as a consequence of an earlier task completed from the same provider;
  • There is clear benefit in maintaining continuity of provision.

Waiver form can be obtained from Procurement

Standards Business Conduct - The organisation’s Standards of Business Conduct aims to ensure that all individuals acting on behalf of the organisation, observe and comply with all applicable legislation and regulations and undertake ethical business practices, acting with high standards of business integrity at all times

Please do not sign a contract on behalf of the Trust without relevant authority and/or contacting the Procurement department first.

Before ordering goods/service

Is this purchase absolutely necessary? Can the goods/services be sourced from within the Trust? The Trust uses Warp It, an online portal for the internal redistribution of surplus products – register here for access to see what surplus products are currently available.

Before ordering goods or services also consider the following:

  • Environmental Impacts – Is it the most energy efficient model? Is it made from recycled materials? Consider the whole lifecycle, when will it need to be replaced and how will it be disposed of after use?

Email – procurement@merseycare.nhs.uk

Team members

Colin Todd – Head of Procurement                          Colin.todd@merseycare.nhs.uk

Christine Hughes – Specialist Buyer                         Christine.hughes@merseycare.nhs.uk

Anila Sharma – Specialist Buyer                                Anila.sharma@merseycare.nhs.uk

Stacey Kirby – Senior Buyer                                       Stacey.kirby@merseycare.nhs.uk

Richard Timmins – Senior Buyer                               Richard.Timmins@merseycare.nhs.uk

Georgia Bell – Senior Buyer                                       Georgia.bell@merseycare.nhs.uk

Lyn Stanton  - Buyer                                                    Lyn.stanton@merseycare.nhs.uk

Tony Norris - Procurement Officer                           Tony.norris@merseycare.nhs.uk

Rachel Yau – Procurement Officer                           Rachael.yau@merseycare.nhs.uk                        

Mid Mersey Division

Paul Harrison - Procurement Manager                       Paul.harrison2@merseycare.nhs.uk

Cathy Sinnott - Senior Buyer/Team Leader              Cathy.sinnott@merseycare.nhs.uk

Phil Nichols  - Buyer                                                         phil.nichols@merseycare.nhs.uk

Darren Lewis – Buyer/Procurement Analyst           darren.lewis@merseycare.nhs.uk

Jill Roberts – Accounts Payable Officer                      Jill.roberts@merseycare.nhs.uk

Vacant post - Procurement Assistant