The health and safety team provide specialist advice and support Trust wide to staff and senior management. The team are located within the Estates and Facilities department.

The team support Estates and Facilities with reviewing of method statements and risk assessments and COSHH related concerns. The team are responsible for the Trust health and safety policies and procedures and ensuring compliance with health and safety legislation. All staff must carry out a Display Screen Equipment (DSE) assessments which the health and safety team support staff with completing if required.

The team support in carrying out workplace inspections, risk assessments (COVID, Environmental Suicide  Risk Assessments (ESRAS’s)) and audits (QRV, SPA). The health and safety team are an integral part in any projects (new builds or refurbishment) and can provide advice and support from the design phase on any projects. The health and safety team also deliver health and safety training on Trust Induction. Due to the ongoing COVID situation, the health and safety team are supporting the Trust with mask fit testing.  

The Trust fire drills, fire warden training and evacuation chair training is also the responsibility of the health and safety team.  Manual handling Training (object and patient focused) is also delivered by the health and safety team.

Any security issues outside of Secure division is the responsibility of the health and safety team including security risk assessments and lone working arrangements. The team are the Trust point of contact in relation to lone working devices. 

The team support the Trust with CCTV compliance and the downloading of CCTV footage and having input into the design of the CCTV system. The health and safety team support staff when dealing with Police issues, dealing with Police requests and supporting staff with any violence and aggression concerns.

Health and Safety Team

Name Email Title Division
Joanne Fowlis Joanne.fowlis@merseycare.nhs.uk Head of Health and Safety Trust wide
Joe Murray Joe.Murray@merseycare.nhs.uk Senior Safety Advisor Secure and SpLD
Mark Clayton Mark.Clayton@merseycare.nhs.uk Safety Advisor Community
Trevor Duggan Trevor.Duggan@merseycare.nhs.uk Safety Advisor Community
Dave Berry David.berry@merseycare.nhs.uk Safety Advisor Local
Emma Kenwright Emma.kenwright@merseycare.nhs.uk Health and Safety Coordinator Mid Mersey
Lewis Wilson Lewis.Wilson@merseycare.nhs.uk Security Coordinator Mid Mersey

 

Fire Safety Team

Name Email Title Division
Dan Grundy Daniel.Grundy@merseycare.nhs.uk Senior Fire Safety Advisor Trust wide

 

Manual Handling Team

Name Email Title Division
Jason O'Flaherty Jason.OFlaherty@merseycare.nhs.uk

Manual Handling

Clinical Lead for Falls

Trust wide

Mid Mersey

Stephen Stelfox Stephen.Stelfox@merseycare.nhs.uk Manual Handling Trainer Trust wide
Claire Parkinson Clare.Parkinson@merseycare.nhs.uk Manual Handling Trainer Trust wide